New Members Appointed to CCCEP Board of Directors

Download News Release

New Members Appointed to CCCEP Board of Directors


June 26, 2019 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan – Three new appointments to the Board of Directors of the Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP) came into effect on May 31, 2019. The Directors were nominated by Newfoundland and Labrador Pharmacy Board (NLPB), the Canadian Pharmacy Technician Educators Association (CPTEA) and the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP).

Ms. Noelle Patten is the Associate Registrar - Quality Assurance at the NLPB, whose primary responsibility is oversight of the NLPB Quality Assurance Program, which includes practice site assessments and professional development requirements. Noelle is currently exploring the development of new standards of practice specific to medication safety as well as new processes for assessing pharmacist and pharmacy technician practice. Prior to joining the NLPB in 2014, Noelle worked in community pharmacy, with a specific focus on the treatment of opioid use disorder. She graduated from the Memorial University School of Pharmacy in 2006 and completed a Masters in Health Management at McMaster University in 2018. 

“I am delighted to have the opportunity to work with CCCEP, alongside colleagues from across the country. I look forward to applying my knowledge, experience, and interests in pharmacy education and professional development to my role as a Director,” said Ms. Patten.

Ms. Asfiya Rahman is the Program Coordinator, Pharmacy Technician Program, at Algonquin Careers Academy. An educator for more than two decades, Asfiya holds a Bachelor’s Degree in General Sciences and a Bachelor’s in Homeopathic Medicine and Surgery, in addition to a Diploma in Pharmacy Technician. Ms. Rahman has worked as a Registered Pharmacy Technician for over ten years in Ontario. Asfiya enjoys mentoring and educating students to assist them in reaching their professional goals.  She received a Gold Medal for her academics in 1991, the Ontario Pharmacist Association’s “Patient Champion” in 2015, and has been nominated for the Career Colleges Ontario Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2019.

“I believe that education is an asset that is ever increasing in value. I am excited about the opportunity that my involvement on the CCCEP Board of Directors will provide. It aligns with my personal motto - It is not how much I have achieved; it is how much I could help others achieve – and I look forward to working alongside other Board members who are equally passionate about continuing professional development,” said Ms. Rahman.

Currently a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist and Pharmacy Residency Coordinator at Eastern Health, Dr. Barbara Thomas has had a long career in Mental Health and Addictions – acute care inpatient psychiatry and most recently in ambulatory mental health clinic setting. Dr. Thomas has been on CCCEP’s Board of Directors since 2005 representing the NLPB. With the retirement of CSHP’s current representative on the Board, David Knoppert, Barb offered her extensive experience to CSHP as their new representative. She has been active with CSHP at both the branch and national level throughout her career, previously held the role of President of the Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) Branch, and continues to support the NL Branch with professional development and other activities.  Dr. Thomas holds a PharmD from the University of Colorado and has received numerous awards including Isobel E. Stauffer Meritorious Award (CSHP National) 2015, and the Leadership in Pharmacy Practice Award (CSHP NL Branch) 2013.

“I am honoured to have the opportunity to continue my involvement with the CCCEP Board of Directors and hope that my knowledge and background in continuing professional development enables me to continue to provide meaningful contribution to the work of the Board,” said Dr. Thomas.

CCCEP’s President Michelle Wyand welcomed the Directors. “Our Board has gained much from David Knoppert’s involvement and we wish him well in his retirement. We look forward to Barb’s continued contributions to the Board of Directors as the new representative for the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists,” she began. “We are also pleased to welcome Asfiya and Noelle, whose expertise and background will assist the Board as we continue our efforts to advance pharmacy practice through leadership, innovation and excellence in continuing professional development.”


The Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP) is a national organization established to accredit continuing pharmacy education programs intended to be delivered to pharmacy professionals from more than one province or nationally.

CCCEP accreditation is recognized by the pharmacy regulatory authorities in all provinces and territories of Canada.



For more information, please contact:

Colleen G. Janes

Executive Director

Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP)

Phone: 306-652-7790