New President and Vice-President Elected

Download News Release

News Release

For Immediate Release

CCCEP Announces New Executive Officers

January 2, 2019 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan – At the recent Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP), held on November 30, 2018, the Board of Directors elected three new Executive Officers for the Council.

Michelle Wyand was elected president of CCCEP, after concluding a two-year term as Vice-President this November. Ashifa Keshavji is a first-time member of the Executive Team as CCCEP’s Vice-President. Barbara Thomas, President from 2015-2016 remained as Past President due to the resignation from the Board of Directors of Philip Emberley, who was President from 2017 to 2018.

President-Elect Wyand stated that “she was following a string of exceptional Presidents and has big shoes to fill.” She shared that she was “looking forward to working with the new Executive Director of CCCEP and it will be a challenging but rewarding transition.” She looks forward to the next phase of CCCEP as the organization explores new initiatives

President Wyand joined CCCEP’s Board of Directors in May 2008. Since 2014, Michelle Wyand has held the position of Registrar for the Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacists (PEICP). Prior to her position as Registrar, Ms. Wyand held the position of Assistant Registrar for the College and also practiced pharmacy in both community and hospital settings. A member of CCCEP since 2008, she’s participated on a number of CCCEPs committees including the Accreditation Review Committee and the Governance Committee. She also serves on national and provincial-level committees for the profession.

Vice President Keshavji joined the Board of Directors in May 2006. Ashifa Keshavji is the Director of Practice Reviews & Quality Assurance with the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia. She has worked in community pharmacy for many years and began working at the College on the OnCall Line and conducting inspections. Ms. Keshavji has served as Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee since 2007 and a number of task groups.

Past President Thomas joined the CCCEP Board of Directors in 2005. Barb Thomas is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist and Pharmacy Residency Coordinator for Eastern Health and Clinical Assistant Professor at the School of Pharmacy, Memorial University of Newfoundland. In addition to work for Eastern Health, Ms. Thomas furthered her education and obtained her Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Colorado in 2010. Dr. Thomas has served as President, Vice President and Past President. She has also served as a member of the Governance Committee, Finance Committee and the Accredited Provider Review Panel.


“All of us at CCCEP are pleased to have Michelle move into the role of President, for Ashifa to become the Vice-President of the Board and for Barbara to remain as Past-President” began Art Whetstone. “Their respective day-to-day workplace experience combined with their previous involvement with our Board and its committees will be instrumental over the next two (2) years as CCCEP enters a new phase of its development. I believe our Board will undoubtedly benefit from the strong leadership that will be provided by Michelle, Ashifa and Barb.”



The Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP) is a national organization established to accredit continuing pharmacy education programs intended to be delivered to pharmacy professionals from more than one province or nationally.

CCCEP accreditation is recognized by the pharmacy regulatory authorities in all provinces and territories of Canada.


For more information, please contact:


Arthur Whetstone, EdD

Executive Director

Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP)

Phone: 306-652-7790